Administrative Staff

The administrative offices of Florida Sea Grant are housed at the University of Florida in Gainesville. Here the leadership and supporting teams work together to manage and run the state-wide program.

Sherry Larkin
Maia McGuire
Associate Director, Extension and Education
Rodrigo Venegas
Assistant Director
Fiscal Operations
Corina Guevara
Student and Education Coordinator
Sharon Cook
Administrative Assistant
Sandi Reveille
Administrative Assistant
Ben Murphy
Administrative Assistant

Extension Agents

Extension Agents directly deliver extension programming for target audiences, mostly within defined geographic areas and to varying degrees of specialization. They have pertinent graduate degrees and serve as either county, multi-county, regional specialized, or state-wide specialized agents. Click here to access an interactive map showing agent locations.

Holly Abeels
Extension Agent
Brevard County
Savanna Barry
Regional Specialized Sea Grant Agent, 
Nature Coast
Ray Bodrey
Extension Agent

Gulf County
Angela Collins
Regional Extension Agent

Manatee, Hillsborough and Sarasota Counties
Vincent Encomio
Extension Agent

Martin and St. Lucie Counties
Joy Hazell
Statewide Facilitation Agent
Scott Jackson
Extension Agent

Bay County
Lisa Krimsky
Regional Specialized Agent

Water Resources
Erik Lovestrand
Extension Director

Franklin County
Maia McGuire
Extension Agent

Flagler and St. Johns counties
Rick O’Connor
Extension Agent

Escambia County
Michael Sipos
Extension Agent

Collier County
Betty Staugler
Extension Agent

Charlotte County
Leslie Sturmer
Aquaculture Extension Agent

Laura Tiu
Extension Agent 

Okaloosa and Walton Counties
Armando Ubeda
Extension Agent 

Sarasota County
Chris Verlinde
Extension Agent

Santa Rosa County
Ana Zangroniz
Extension Agent

Miami-Dade County

Extension Specialists

As subject-matter experts, Extension Specialists support extension agents’ programs in a variety of ways (e.g., workshops, extension products for dissemination, in-service training), as well as deliver university expertise directly to industry/resource agency professionals over broader geographic areas (e.g. state-wide, SE regional, national).They generally have terminal degrees for their field (e.g. PhD, DVM, JD).

Razieh Farzad
Extension Specialist
Seafood Safety
Maurizio Martinelli
Florida Coral Disease Response Coordinator
Andrew Ropicki
Extension Specialist
Thomas Ruppert
Extension Specialist
Coastal Planning
Monica Wilson
Extension Specialist
Oil Spill Research

 Affiliate Faculty

Florida Sea Grant member institutions have many faculty members and departments whose expertise align with the mission and focus areas of FSG. Typical engagement of these affiliate researchers with FSG includes serving as expert advisors, supporting extension programming, and/or collaborating on grants.

Emeritus Staff

Served FSG professionally, are now retired, but remain connected with the program.